Madama Butterfly


Great Classics


20, 21, 23, 25 and 27 AUG | 21h30

Garden National Museum of Ancient Art


Opera in three acts

Sung in Italian

Subtitles in Portuguese

Length: 2h with small intermisson


The Garden of the National Museum for Ancient Art has the perfect geography to recreate in Lisbon, the little house, on the top of the hill, with view to Nagasaki Port, in which tragic love between young Japanese geisha Cio-cio San and the lieutenant of the American navy, Benjamin Franklin Pinkerton, takes place.

From the beginning of this story, tragedy is eminent. Not her faithful servant Suzuki, nor the American consul Sharpless, nor even Goro, the heartless marriage broker, who first architects this felony and later on, tries to help her out of it -  all efforts are helpless to move away relentless faith of Butterfly in Pinkerton’s love. The audience confident follows Butterfly’s metamorphosis from young innocent girl to tragic heroin, taking her destiny in her own hands.

One of the most moving operas of all time, composed by master of emotion Giacomo Puccini (1904), with a score filled with Japanese and oriental inspired themes and sublime music.


Musical direction: Jan Wierzba

Stage direction: Olga Roriz

New orchestral version: Francisco Lima da Silva

Scenography: Ana Vaz

Costumes and props: Ana Vaz e Olga Roriz

Light Designing: Gi Carvalho

Staging assistent: Sara Carinhas

Assistent and scenography execution: Pedro Jardim



Madama Butterfly: Catarina Molder

B.F. Pinkerton: Mads Wighus

Suzuki: Ana Ferro

Sharpless: Christian Luján

Kate Pinkerton: Ana Rita Coelho

Goro: Alberto Sousa

Bozo: Diogo Oliveira

Yamadori: Diogo Oliveira

Commissioner: Nuno Fonseca

Son Cio-cio San: Noah Freire


Nova era vocal Ensemble

Maestro: João Barros

Afonso Cardoso, Gonçalo Freitas, Hélder Galego, Íris Brandão, Joana Camacho, Joana Vieira, Laura Martins, Maria Leonor Alves, Margarida Mercês, Maria João Abreu, Mónica Santos, Patrícia Manso, Rita Filipe, Simão Andrade, Sofia Brito, Victor Pires


Ensemble MPMP

violin I - Daniel Bolito

violin II - Rui Antunes

viola - Ana Monteverde

cello - Nuno Cardoso

contrabass - Samuel Pedro

flute - Ana Catarina Costa

oboe - Luciano Cruz

clarinet - Miguel Costa

bassoon - Ricardo Santos

horns - Armando Martins e Ângelo Caleira

trumpet - Óscar Carmo

trombone - Hugo Pedrosa

percussion - Cristiano Rios e Rodrigo Azevedo


Butterfly's dress done by mestre Aldina Luz